Yes, under the guidelines of Prop. 64 – under the Adult Use of Marijuana Act (AUMA) it is legal for an adult (21 years old +) to possess marijuana. While it is legal to possess marijuana in California there are specific guidelines you must abide by in regards to use and possession.
Marijuana Use and Possession Guidelines
An individual (21+) may lawfully possess marijuana when used privately. Any amount the exceeds one ounce or 8 grams must be stored securely inside a private residence. And cannot be visible from outside the residence.
When prescribed by a physician, it is lawful for anyone of any age to obtain and consume marijuana under California’s 1996 medical marijuana law, Prop. 215.
It is unlawful for an individual to smoke or consume marijuana in a public setting. Including within 1,000 feet of a day care, school or youth center while children are present. Except when used in privately owned residences.
It is unlawful for an individual to possess an open container or consume marijuana/cannabis while driving. It is also unlawful to consume or possess an opened container while boating, on an airplane or while operating any kind of vehicle.
California Cannabis Laws
When you or a loved one decides to incorporate the use of marijuana in your life. It’s important to understand the law. Whether taking recreationally or because of a physicians recommendation it’s important to understand your rights. Fortunately, we have come a long way since the days were it was illegal to possess cannabis even for medical purposes. To learn more about the indepth law behind marijuana possession and Prop. 64 visit California Courts.
Understanding the in’s and out’s of California’s cannabis laws will help ensure you and your loved ones are protected. Knowing your rights is the first step to keeping yourself safe from unnecessary charges.