Changes to Marijuana Possession Charges & How it Affects Bail
With Proposition 64 in full effect, the marijuana landscape has changed quite drastically
How Marijuana Possession Charges Look Under Proposition 64
With Proposition 64 in full effect, the marijuana landscape has changed quite drastically. Many California Citizens have a variety of questions revolving around marijuana possession chargers and what they can and cannot do. Which is why we put together a few items that should help put things into perspective.
The minimum usage age is 21. The same minimum age for drinking alcohol is also the same drinking age to smoke marijuana. As a consumer, one may possess up to 8 grams (1 ounce) of marijuana buds. Which seems like a little bit, but equates to about the same amount as a pack of cigarettes.
Marijuana for non-medical use can be purchased and sold from stores like cigarette or vape shops. Marijuana shops and stores will be arriving soon after a licensing process is put in place. Some sources say we should start seeing stores around mid to late 2017.
Consumer can NOT use marijuana in public areas. Fines can be up to $100 for smoking marijuana in areas such as parking lots, parks, or store fronts. Fines can be up to $250 if a consumer is caught smoking in a non-smoking area.
Residents of California can legally grow up to 6 marijuana plants on their home premises. The plants must be in enclosed structures or grown indoors. Some local governments can ban or allow outdoor growth. So, check you’re with your local city or county to find out what this means for you.
There will be a tax placed on all marijuana goods – both state and federal – as well as an additional 15% excise tax. To give a reference point on how this tax should affect the price of marijuana – currently, a pack of cigarettes is $9.77.
Just like with alcohol, it is illegal to drive while under the influence of marijuana. You can get in trouble if an officer pulls you over and you smell like marijuana too. Obviously, be very responsible when enjoying this activity and avoid trips to store when you get the munchies. Or at least, change your close to avoid smelling like cannabis.
Legally, an adult of the age of 21 can have 8 ounces of marijuana on their person. But if they possess more than that than they can be charged with a misdemeanor, a $500 fine, and up to 6 months in jail. This is quite a heavy-handed punishment, but is easy to avoid if consumers stay responsible.
And Finally, marijuana is still a federal offense. Which means that the United States government will be looking for and targeting trafficking operations across state lines. Keep that in mind when traveling between marijuana legal states.
In a perfect world, everyone would be responsible and the police wouldn’t need to enforce the law. But we know that sometimes people make mistakes or are accused of making mistakes that are falsely charged. If you or a loved one have found yourself in one such position, then give us a call at (209) 575-2663 or fill contact us through our web form!